Outstanding Virginian Award

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia established the Outstanding Virginian Award to honor recipients whose distinguished contributions, outstanding achievements, and dedicated leadership serve as an inspiration to all civic-minded citizens. The award, considered the Commonwealth’s highest honor, was first presented to United States Senator Harry F. Byrd, Jr. in 1983.  The 2019 recipients of the Outstanding Virginian Award are The Honorable W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr. and Mrs. Helen Turner Murphy.

The Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy and the General Assembly-appointed Outstanding Virginian Committee co-host the annual Outstanding Virginian Award Ceremony to honor the year’s recipient(s) in a celebration that includes their family members, friends, and admirers. Proceeds realized from the event support the Outstanding Virginian Bicentennial Scholarship at the Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy.