Posts Tagged with

turner bassok wyckoff

Three professors at the UVA Batten School were named as among the top 200 most influential education scholars in the U.S. in an annual ranking by the American Enterprise Institute: Sarah Turner, Daphna Bassok and Jim Wyckoff. 


Sophie Turner

Batten Professor of economics, education and public policy Sarah Turner was selected as this year's recipient of the Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Prize.

Andy Pennock

Batten Professor Andy Pennock has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award in leadership education to Slovenia for the 2023-2024 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Peter Johannessen

Teaching awards presented annually at the University of Virginia honor dedicated, passionate faculty members who contribute to an environment of excellence, rigor and academic growth for students.

Edu Scholars Awards 2023

Four Batten School faculty members affiliated with the EdPolicyWorks research center once again placed in the national rankings of influential education scholars.

Batten School Leadership Professorships

The Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy at the University of Virginia announces the appointment of Eileen Chou and Sophie Trawalter as inaugural Batten Family Bicentennial Teacher-Scholar Leadership Professors.

Solomon and Williams Fellows

Ian Solomon, dean of the Batten School and professor of practice of public policy, and Brian Williams, associate professor of public policy, have been selected by the National Academy of Public Administration for inclusion in its 2022 Class of Academy Fellows.

Craig Volden

Batten's Craig Volden and co-author Rachel Augustine Potter were recognized for their research exploring the effectiveness of female agency leaders. They discuss the "glass walls" effect and the potential implications of their findings.

Garrett Hall

This academic year, Batten School professors won a slew of internal and external recognitions for excellence in teaching, service, research and engagement.

Batten School Dean Ian Solomon, President of Sesame Workshop Sherrie Rollins Westin, UVA President Jim Ryan and Leslie Greene Bowman, president and CEO of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation at Monticello. (Photo by Sanjay Suchak, University Communications)

On Wednesday, the Batten School honored Sesame Workshop President Sherrie Rollins Westin with the Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medal in Citizen Leadership. Each year on Jefferson’s birthday, UVA and the Thomas Jefferson Foundation at Monticello award the medals for exemplary achievement in fields the former president admired.