Posts Tagged with

How women leaders can enhance rulemaking in the Biden administration

How can the Biden-Harris team increase its odds for regulatory success? According to research from Batten’s Craig Volden and co-author Rachel Augustine Potter, the new administration can accomplish policy change by hiring women leaders and establishing supportive work environments.


The Navy Federal Credit Union has selected Batten student Jacob Shapero (MPP '21) as one of four Army ROTC All-Americans nationwide.

Washington DC

One of the most prestigious programs for graduate students and alumni interested in public service, the fellowship affords recipients two years of experience and training at a federal agency.


Former UVA basketball star and Batten alum Malcolm Brogdon was awarded the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award, an honor presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to an individual who shows outstanding service and dedication to their community.


As President-elect Joe Biden’s cabinet nominees have been named, much of the discussion has been about their ideological leanings. In an article for The Hill, Batten's Craig Volden and Vanderbilt University's Alan E. Wiseman, co-directors of the Center for Effective Lawmaking, outline why these ideological discussions are too narrow a focus.


On UVA’s Lifetime Learning podcast, Batten professor Brian Williams argues that we should let diverse groups drive police reform.

Terrell Jana

After violent protests in Charlottesville three years ago, and this year's latest push for racial and social justice, Batten's Terrell Jana and fellow teammates and coaches knew they had to do something to fight for change.

Illustration by Alexandra Angelich, University Communications

Ahead of Election Day, Dean Ian Solomon writes about how leadership can heal during times of political division for UVAToday's "On Words" series.

Jim Detert

Jim Detert is the John L. Colley Professor of Business Administration in the Leadership and Organizational Behavior area at the University of Virginia's Darden Graduate School of Business Administration.


Batten's Paul Martin teaches a course aimed at improving experiences for first-generation students at UVA, while also participating in a wide range of activities for the betterment of the Charlottesville community.